Skip to content

Thank you, M. Badinter

30 000

people on death row

111

abolitionist states

51

states still apply the death penalty

Ghana

latest state to abolish the death penalty

Find out more about ECPM

Educational activities

In-country actions

Video

Do you really know what the death penalty is?

I became involved in the abolitionist movement in 2008 when I came across a newspaper article about Troy Davis, who was on death row in Georgia. Only two hours before his scheduled execution, he was told that he was going to receive a stay of execution. I thought that to impose this period of waiting for death, with the clock ticking and the psychological distress, was absolutely inhuman. He was executed at a later date, although he had always maintained his innocence.

Aminata Niakate ECPM President

More than ever before, we must stand in solidarity with activists in these countries. We must support them at all costs, just as we must make our voices heard at every execution, each one constituting a crime against humanity. The task at hand is unfinished and challenging. Activists need to redouble their efforts. I thank them from the bottom of my heart, especially those who fight against the scourge of capital punishment in countries where it is still applied... I am convinced that the movement can only grow and become stronger. However, it depends on you, those who are fighting the abomination of the death penalty on a daily basis. Never forget: the death penalty is always an absolute negation of the first human right, the right to life.

Robert Badinter ECPM Honorary President, former Minister of Justice, France

Thanks to the work of ECPM and other NGOs, the death penalty is declining worldwide, but it is still carried out in more than 50 countries, sometimes in utmost secrecy. We don’t even know the exact number of executions in China! The ominous hangings orchestrated this year by the Iranian regime have shown that the death penalty remains a tool of repression against the freedom of peoples. More than ever, it is up to us to demonstrate that the death penalty is the most cruel, inhuman, and degrading punishment there is, and to call for universal abolition.

François Croquette ECPM board member, former French Ambassador for Human Rights

Aller au contenu

Merci, monsieur Badinter

30 000

personnes condamnées à mort

111

États abolitionnistes

51

États appliquant la peine de mort

Ghana

dernier État à avoir aboli la peine capitale

Découvrez ECPM

Actions d'éducation

Nos pays d'action

En vidéo

Savez-vous vraiment ce qu'est la peine de mort ?

Mon engagement pour l’abolitionnisme remonte à 2008, lorsque je tombe sur un article de presse qui parle de Troy Davis, condamné à mort en Géorgie. Il a appris, seulement deux heures avant l’heure prévue de son exécution, qu’il allait bénéficier d’un sursis d’exécution. J’ai trouvé qu’infliger à quelqu’un l’attente de la mort, le temps qui défile et la détresse psychologique, était absolument inhumain. Finalement, il a été exécuté plus tard alors qu’il avait toujours clamé son innocence.

Aminata Niakate Présidente d’ECPM

Plus que jamais, nous devons être solidaires des militants dans ces États. Nous devons à tout prix les soutenir, de même que nous devons faire entendre notre voix à chaque exécution, chacune étant un crime contre l’humanité. La tâche à accomplir est donc inachevée et difficile. Les militants doivent redoubler d’énergie. Je les remercie du fond du cœur, particulièrement ceux qui luttent contre le fléau de la peine capitale dans les pays où elle reste appliquée… Je suis convaincu que le mouvement ne peut que grandir et se renforcer. Cela dit, cela dépend de vous, qui combattez au quotidien l’abomination qu’est la peine de mort. N’oubliez jamais : cette peine constitue toujours une négation absolue du premier des droits humains, le droit à la vie.

Robert Badinter Président d’honneur d’ECPM, ancien ministre de la Justice, France

Grâce au travail d’ECPM et d’autres ONG, la peine de mort est en recul dans le monde, mais elle reste appliquée dans plus de 50 pays, parfois dans le plus grand secret. Nous ne connaissons même pas le nombre exact d’exécutions en Chine ! Et les sinistres pendaisons orchestrées cette année par le régime iranien ont démontré que la peine capitale restait un instrument de répression contre la liberté des peuples. Plus que jamais, il nous appartient donc de démontrer que la peine capitale est le châtiment le plus cruel, inhumain et dégradant qui soit et d’exiger son abolition universelle.

François Croquette Membre du conseil d'administration d'ECPM, ancien ambassadeur aux droits de l'Homme